First Rant

September 6, 2009 at 16:12 | Posted in games, league of legends | Leave a comment

Right, so I’ve been told by my friend Beldak that I should start typing down my various rants and thoughts on a blog. I did after all register this blog name while I was at his place in Holland. So here goes.

So I just got accepted into the League of Legends Beta testing. It’s not the first time I’ve been beta testing, but probably this early into development. That being said, the game itself seems mostly done.

For those of you who don’t know League of Legends (or “LoL” as it’s precariously abbreviated) it is basicly a stand-alone version of Defense of the Ancients or DotA with some carry-over elements between the matches. Now that I’ve confused you even more, I’ll get into the explanation of the game.

There are two teams. Each team’s goal is to destroy the other team’s main building. To get to the other team’s base there are three roads or “lanes” as they’re commonly called, all of them riddled with defensive towers that protect each teams base by firing at the enemy.

The game has it’s roots in RTS (Real Time Strategy) games and it shows by the wave of minions that are spawned in each team’s base at certain intervals and then goes of rushing down each lane towards the enemy base and to a glorious death (or in the rare case, victory). These minions cannot be controled by the players.

With me so far? If so, you’re probably wondering how you’re supposed to influence the game if you can’t control the units. That’s where the champions come into play. They’re you’re average roleplaying character, gainins levels, gold, loot and skills as the battle progresses, and each player gets to chose one of these to control.

One of the biggest ways it differs from DotA is that the result of your matches carries over to the next. As you win and lose matches you yourself gain experince and can gain “masteries” (read: talents in WoW), runes and access to a few spells. I’ve yet to see how much impact these will have on actual gameplay, but it seems that the further you get into the game the less it matters. Somewhat.

It’s basicly a team based RPG in an RTS game. And so far I’ve also found that it’s a lot of fun.

I’d love to post some screenshots or whatnot to let you look at the game or at least make the explanations easier, but unfortunately the NDA doesn’t allow me to. It was only a few days ago that the beta testers were actually allowed to even talk about it, so I guess I shouldn’t be complaining too much.

I never did get into DotA. I Bought Warcraft 3 pretty late (och which DotA is a mod) and never got to play DotA against actual humans. So I was quite intrigued when I saw a preview at Gametrailers about LoL and how it was supposed to be easier to get into as well.

I was surprised of finding just how easy it was to learn. After only 3-4 matches I knew all the basics and was beginning to be useful. And the fact that even if you loose you gain XP, you usually have fun and progress no matter what the outcome. That being said, you get more if you win. I prefer winning. And it’s easy as pie to get into a new game.

So that’s the end of my first rant. So for those of you out there, sign up for the Eurpoean beta. I need people to play with! My nickname is of course “Kroax.”

Also, it works with Macs.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

